Island Driving School

What Some of Our Past Students are Saying:

All reviews

I passed my road test on the first try!

 
 
Inbox
x
 
 
 

Teliqua Richards teliquarichards@yahoo.com

May 30 (10 days ago)
 
to me
 
 
 
 
 
 
I am writing this review so that everyone can know that this driving school is all the way awesome! My instructor Lenny, was very patient and very experienced. I have never driven a car before and felt very comfortable with Lenny and his directives. He taught me everything that I should know within four lessons and said that "I was ready for my road test."
On the day of my road test Michael Venanzini who was  also very nice and patient took me to the site where I would test my skills, and I was more than confident with what I had  learned in less than a week. I have to say that in the beginning I was a little skeptical as to how and why my lessons would be taken two weeks before my scheduled road test, however, I must say that  Island Driving School knows exactly what they are doing and they are the best driving school on Staten Island.
 
Thank you so much for being the professionals that you are and thank you for helping me to pass my road test!

1 review
5.0 star rating 5/15/2015
I would like to thank Island Driving School for the quality lessons I've received and for finally helping me get my license! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I want to thank my amazing instructor, Michael. I started the lessons feeling insecure and afraid of the road. After some time and with the help of Michael I was able to pass my road test. Michael gave me great advice and tips and I would highly recommend this instructor.

Michael from the Island Driving School, was very friendly, exceptionally patient, calm and cool with first time driving students, like myself. Michael is an expert at communicating and will know exactly where students need the most help after a couple minutes. Michael knows exactly what to say to motivate you! He is very helpful in getting your license.

There are no words to express my gratitude. I can only recommend that everybody and their mother sign up for lessons at Island Driving School because you won't regret it!

Also the 5 hour class was super simple and easy. It is held by Bob and he does a great job. They keep the class light and humorous and the 5 hours go by extremely quick. If your looking to get your 5 hour certificate quickly, Island Driving School place is for you.

Thanks Michael, Bernadette, Robert and the rest of the Island driving staff.

Hands down the best driving school wink emoticon
-Abanoub

victoria ferraro Rating**** Review posted on
on Google+
 
May 10, 2015
My experience at the Island Driving School was better than I thought because I never imagined I'd get along so well with my instructor! Danielle was a great teacher and the driving school is very helpful and accommodating to my schedule when helping me book my road test. I passed my road test because of the help from Danielle, and if it wasn't for her I wouldn't feel confident being on the road! Great experience and glad that I feel well prepared to be a new licensed driver.
 

Review 5/8/15
Nagwa GhalyYesterday 10:09 PM

I would like to thank all staff for being very nice and helpful .especially Danielle my instruction she was the best , she have a lot of patience , she knew exactly what I need to practice more and more to pass my test that will never done without her help .god bless you Danielle ! Love you so much

 

 
Bria Francois   w posted on
on Google+
 
Nov 14, 2014
After going through one of the worst driving practices i decided to try Island Driving School which happens to be the best! I went through three days of practice before the day of my test and passed with 0 points! Danielle being my instructor was an amazing help! Patient and nice individual. I definitely recommend this school !
5.0 star rating
10/9/2014 Absolutely wonderful driving school experience! I went in to sign up for lessons a couple months ago after nearly a decade had passed since a failed drivers ed experience in school. I told them that I was an incredibly nervous driver, and they paired me up with Lenny. This morning, I passed my road test and I know it was all because of Lenny's teaching skills. He is calm, he will explain everything patiently and clearly, and he doesn't get frustrated if he has to repeat things or if you mess up. Aside from being great at teaching, he is also a wonderful motivator. I wasn't quite sure I was making the right decision when I signed up for lessons, but he assured me that I was more than capable of becoming a competent and safe driver, and increased my confidence in myself and my driving ability. Definitely go here for your driving lessons and request Lenny as your teacher!

  

Review Of: Island Driving School
Rating: ✪✪✪✪✪
Title: Excellent school
Details: My son passed thanks to Island Driving School. He said his teacher Rose was very helpful and gave him so many pointers and she is the reason he passed. I highly recommend Rose and Island Driving School. Thanks a bunch!

Sandy
Recommend: Yes, I would recommend this business
 

 

Published By
 
Contact Name: Sandy
City & State: Staten Island, NY
Published On: Jun 14, 2014
  
  Best driving school, brilliant instructors, affordable lessons!
by Michael Simmons from Staten Island, NY
May 10, 2014
I would like to thank Island Driving School for the exceptional quality of lessons I received the past two months and for helping me get my license! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and, most of all, I want to thank my brilliant instructor, Mike V. I started the lessons feeling insecure and afraid of the road. I had taken driving lessons last summer at another driving school and failed my test. 

Looking back, I realized it was because I was so nervous and my instructor at that school was very critical and impatient. Mike at Island Driving School, on the other hand, was very friendly, pleasant, laid-back, and most of all, exceptionally PATIENT. His kind and approachable demeanor made me feel relaxed, and when I made mistakes, his response was always compassionate and understanding. He has a great sense of humor, and his ability to communicate clearly and explain the lessons with warmth and understanding made me feel confident and not afraid to learn from my mistakes. 

He is an expert at driving and road safety, but more importantly, he is an expert at COMMUNICATING what he knows to his students, particularly those first time driving students, like myself. Mike knows exactly what to say to motivate you! There are no words to express the gratitude I feel for what Mike and Island Driving School has done for me. I can only recommend that everybody and their mother sign up for lessons at Island Driving School because you won't regret it! THANK YOU MIKE! I am so grateful.
I recommend this business
Mike the instructor is hands down THE BEST
Rating: 5 stars (5 stars)
Text: "I want to thank Island Driving School for your dedication and patience in helping me get my license. A special thanks, to my instructor Bob. You encouraged me and your pep talks helped me and inspired me not to give up when I felt like giving up. Thanks for your patience. This school rocks!!!"
From: PeggyTorres of Staten Island, NY on May 01, 2014
Rating: 5 stars (5 stars)
Text: "Mike @ island driving was outstanding. I personally searched around but when I read all the reviews on there website it looked like mike was the guy I should ask for. He was very informative very descriptive and extremely savy when it comes to the rules of the road and being a safe driver. I'm fortunate to have a great expierience. This school is awesome. I took 5 lessons and mike made it very simple for me to learn (first time ever in a car ). And the first lesson I felt very comfortable and definitely more confident. Our second lesson we worked on all road test maneuvers. I learned how to stop properly at stop signs. Complete k-turns and parrallel parks with ease. Today was my roadtest and I was extremely nervous. Mike really did a good job at easing my nerves and making sure that if I had trust my training I will pass. Well I did. I passed!! And I'm very happy. Thanks mike. I will highly recommend you to anyone of all levels of driving expierience. See you guys on the road!"
From: ching07 of Staten Island, NY on April 21, 2014

Review Best Instructor & Driving School

Rating: 5 stars (5 stars)
Text: "Just want to thank my instructor Mike V for given me the Best driving classes. He is soo professional And patient. The five- hour class Was excellent with Bob. Not boring at all. Your school is rocking! Continue the great Job!! I am sooo thankful because I will be receiving my driver's license in a few days!

roe:

Passed my road test on the first try thanks to roe, she was so awesome and funny and made me feel completely comfortable driving. Every lesson was always filled with alot of laughs and fun. After i passed my road test i was a little upset because i was gonna miss our weekly lessons. THANK YOU :D

Had a great experience with Island Driving school, my instructor was Mike, he was on time, great instructor, extremely friendly, I'm very happy that I got him as my instructor, he taught me. Everything I needed to be ready for the road test and then some. I recommend you ask for Mike, you will not be disappointed!!! I passed on my forst try, and i give a great thanks to him and a plus is that its not even that expensive and they offer a bunch of deals. I also recommend you take a class before the actual test, hope you have the same experience as I did!! Drive safe :)
Unlike ·  · 4/17/14 28 minutes ago
Natalie Jaay
Mike made driving fun and enjoyable but also taught me safety is important and that driving is a privkedged. I was hesitant at first but mike gave me the confidence on out first lesson that I can drive and I can pass this test. He taught me everyday driving skills and made me comfortable and knowledgeable about the rules of the road and how the car works. The following lessons we worked on stop signs k turns and parallel park. In only a few lessons mike had me ready to pass this test. He has been nothing but professional and courteous and I couldn't recommend him more to someone who's motivated to pass his or her roadtest. You will not be sorry. Thanks to mike and island driving school. I have my license just in time for summer!!!

review:

I WOULD LIKE TO THANK MRS. ROSE-MY INSTRUCTOR FOR MY DRIVING EXPERIENCE WITH HER. SHE IS A VERY PROFESSIONAL INSTRUCTOR AND I RECOMMEND HER FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE AFRAID TO DRIVE. SHE GAVE ME A CONFIDENCE TO DRIVE. THANK YOU ROSA-JOANNA

The instructors are great. my instructor was Mike. i felt confident. And pass the test.

Rating: 5 stars (5 stars)
Text: "I want to thank my instructor Mike for his three lessons. Thanks to him. I passed my road test. The 5- hour class not boring at all. Bob did a great Job. The girls who schedule the classes And road test are very courteous And friendly. Over all It was an excellent experience. I Will definitely recommend your school. Sincerely, Zoika. Peynado"
 on April 10, 2014

Best instructor & best driving school

Wow finally I passed the driving test..Thanks a million to Michael who gave great tips on how not to ignore the small things which we would think is not relevant.. Mike seems to be really focused on what he is doing...I was really bad at parallel parking but he did help me a lot and guess what I did the perfect parking ever..Thanks...Thanks a lot..

1 Review for Island Driving School

Sort by: Time  | Rating | Comment
Photo of Jillian M.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
5.0 star rating
4/3/2014

This driving school is the best on the island. All they care about is you passing and they are great people and so helpful. Bob is the reason I passed he is the best! Great person, funny and amazing instructor. Mike is excellent as well. Thank you!

Jill

 

island driving school is amazing i past my road test with only 2 lessons because of the best instructor MIKE!!! hands down can't thank MIKE and ISLAND DRIVING SCHOOL enough.
Unlike ·  · 8 minutes ago

Ruben Bermudez Review:3/28/14
Mike what can I say about him ? Well he's one of the best instructors that taught me how to drive, he taught me how to do k turns, parallel park, & to always observe. If it wasn't for him, I would've never got my license as quick. I highly recommend mike to anyone who has the slightest or highest fear of getting in that drivers seat and driving. He made me feel comfortable and confident that I can pass my road test on the first shot. I passed first shot! Thanks mike and thanks to the staff. I look forward to seeing you guys on the road !

Alexa Sasso(Thursday, March 27 14 09:20 am EDT)

My experience with Mike was amazing. He was calm, patient and made sure I knew what to do in different situations while on the road. I passed my road test and it's all thanks to him. He is a great instructor for first time drivers and I definitely recommend him to anyone who is a new driver, you won't be sorry.

Edward Cardona(Tuesday, March 25 14 03:08 pm EDT)

Just want to give a big thanks to my driving instructor Mike. He was very calm patient and understanding when it came to me being a first time driver. In just 7 lessons I went from no experience to a pretty GOOD driver. I passed my road test yesterday and its thanks to island driving school and Mike. I hope other people have the same or better experience than I had. I definitely recommend Mike

 
 
 
 

Website Visitor 

Requester email:  
Description: THANKS!!!! Took the 5hr class right after taking my permit. Bob was great & the time flew. The day of my test, Mike gave me some great pointers and I passed!! Needed my license for work and everyone there was great. No complications, will tell anyone to go there. You will have no regrets!

Review Recommended To All
Rating: 5 stars (5 stars)
Text: "Had a very good experience with Island Driving School. 5-hour pre-licensing driving course is led by a very professional instructor Robert, who provides useful information on how to successfully pass the road test, detailing all the aspects and examiners' expectations. Customer Service Representatives follow you through the process, reminding time and place for driving lessons and the test. Driving instructors Mike and Jose are extremely helpful, making sure you really know in details how to pull off, make a broken U-turn and parallel parking. I recommend the school to anyone who plans to get a driving license."
From: Vitaly of Staten Island, NY on March 10, 2014
MerchantCircle listing.

1/13/14 bridgetneafsey@gmail.com I couldn't be happier with Island Driving School. I was so comfortable and confident during my lessons with my instructor, Mike. I was not nervous at all going into my road test because I had such a good instructor. I'd definitely recommend this school to anyone in need of driving lessons. Thank you!!

12/4/13 Island Driung School - Google+
Mery Ando
reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best driving school ever. I was so discourage at first, but my
instructor Lenny learned me so much about driving, and made me feel 
confident He was so patient and helped me a lot. 
They are very friendly. Bemadette was so nice too and she wanted me to  
call her after my road test, and when I told her that I passed, she was very  
happy. I am so recommending my instructor Lenny and this school to family  
and friends. Such amazing service! Iknow without Lenny's help,  
I would have never gotten my license. Thank you very much! I will see  
you soon for my highway lesson!
Clarissa Brito
Thank you Island driving School for your amazing customer service, great staff and for helping me pass my road test!!! Your all so great at what you do, definitely recommending to friends and family!!
Unlike ·  · 21 hours ago  10/4/13
Romarlin Angeles
 
Wonderful staff, great instructors I would recommend this driving school to everyone, my experience with them was great!!! Thanks to lenny I got my license!!!
on Thursday 10/3/13
5 stars (5 stars)
: "Island driving school is the best driving school in Staten Island. They teach beginnners the best they can and help them build their confidence in driving. Their staffs are very friendly. I just took lessons with them and just passed on my road test yesterday (first try). My instructor was lenny. He was so very patient and very nice with me. He helped me the best he could and helped me build my confidence in driving. I used to be so fearful and no confidence at all. I am so very happy that I passed my test yesterday. I know without lenny's big help, I would have not gotten my license. I am so thankful for him."
:

Promote this review to the tolennieB of Staten Island, NY on Oc

9/6/13

To Danielle & Bernadette,
This is just a little e-mail of thanks for the care that you all gave to my daughter to help her get her driving license. I know that with your valued instructors she was guided to learn and be confident when she went
to take the New York State road test and to PASS.

Alison Vaughan (Nan's Mom)

 
8/26/13
Such amazing service! I called to ask for a road test and lessons & they gave me the perfect date! The girl behind the phone was truly amazing! She kept an eye out for me to give me the road test I wanted, the day after my birthday! My driving teacher Jose was great & thanks to him I passed my road test ! Unlike other schools, they actually try there best to help you out and you can book lessons easily! Also the prices are lower, compared to other schools! I'm def recommending them to my friends because of the amazing service they provide! Thanks to them I feel confident on the road!
Alina V.

8-15-13

I had my first lesson today, my Instructor Judy was great, I learned so much and she was so nice, I can't wait until my next lesson!!Thank you Island Driving School.:)

Jen

 

RJ Malcic Jr.
 
Just Got Back Home From My Driving Lesson This Evening. I Had A Really Great Time On The Road. I'm Feeling More Confident And Comfortable With Every Lesson All Thanks To My Instructor, Jose. I Especially Give Extreme Thanks To Island Driving School For There Services And Friendly Staff!!! :D
on Monday 7/29/13

4/9/13

DEAR ISLAND DRIVING SCHOOL,

TO THE BEST SCHOOL EVER!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE HELP YOU GAVE ME, I COULDN'T HAVE DONE IT WITHOUT YOUR EXPERT SERVICES.

LOVE YOU GUYS.

ABBY I.

Thank you so much for all of your help and most of all your understanding after being so fearful of driving my entire life, I am now a 60 ish year old who passed their road test on the first try! I am so grateful to Bob for all of his understanding, patience and good humor. I went from not knowing how to even start a car, or use a gas pedal, to driving on the streets of Staten Island without fear. All in just a few lessons! I never thought I would learn how to drive. When I called other schools for information they seemed too busy and pre-occupied to answer my simple questions.When I spoke to Bernadette she gave me all of the information I needed and encouraged me to "at least give it a try!" I am so glad I did! Bernadette even called to wish me luck the day before my road test.My instructor. Bob, knows every street and sign in Staten Island. I would recommend Bob for driving lessons whether you are young, old or in between.

Thank You so much,

Jean B.

 

From: Helen 
Date: Nov 24, 2012 4:58:02 PM
Subject: review
To: IslandDrivingDriving@gmail.com
 

 I loved my instructor, Bob. He is perfect for a nervous Nellie like I was.

 I passed the road test the very first time I took it. Appointments are always available and

suit your schedule, The scheduling the appointments is very professional as well. I highly

recommend Island Driving School to learn how to drive. Nervous Nellies and

Nervous Neils will fare very well.

Helen
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I WANT TO THANK ISLAND DRIVING SCHOOL AND MY INSTRUCTOR LENNY FOR YOUR PATIENCE AND ENCOURAGEMENT WITH ME YOU MADE DRIVING VERY COMFORTABLE, YOUR A GREAT INSTRUCTOR!

 THANK YOU,

ADA

I WANT TO THANK ISLAND DRIVING SCHOOL AND MY INSTRUCTOR JOSE, I WAS SO NERVOUS AND JOSE WAS SO PATIENT AND TOOK ME THROUGH THE PROCESS WITH PATIENCE AND ENCOURAGEMENT, I AM HAPPY TO SAY I AM NOW A LICENSED DRIVER AND I OWE IT ALL TO THIS SCHOOL, I AM RECOMMENDING MY INSTRUCTOR JOSE AND THIS SCHOOL TO ALL MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS, SEE YOU SOON FOR MY HIGHWAY LESSON!

 CAROLINE W.

Hey Bob, just wanted to thank you for all your help. You were very patient and took your time with me. You made me feel very relaxed during my lessons. That's why I picked you as my instructor. I heard from previous students, that you taught, that you were the Best-and you were! Thank you again for all your help. I also want to thank the staff at Island driving school. They were always pleasant and knowledgeable every time I called. I will recommend you and your school to all my friends and relatives.  Jillian  

I'd like to thank Island Driving School for making learning to drive FUN and for all the great driving instruction. Thanks to them, I passed my road test with "0" point deduction. I will be thinking about everything they taught me every time I get behind the wheel. And their office staff was awesome. Thank You, Daniel V.

 I always wanted to drive, but was extremely nervous. I didn't take my first lesson until I was 28. From the first lesson, I felt so comfortable with my instructor. He had patience and made it alot of fun and I wasn't worried anymore. I wondered why I waited 10 years to do it. Only after a few lessons, I was able to pass my road test. Now I drive everywhere. Thanks to this driving school, I did it.

 John D.

 

 
 
  Thank You Very Much
 

 

I want to thank you very much Rose. She is the best instructor I was so afraid and she make me feel so comfortable and I recommend to everyone if you want to pass in the first time choose the sweetest instructor ever. Rose thank you very much again.
Recommend: Yes, I would recommend this business

 

Book an appointment with Island Driving School
Powered by Appointment-Plus

Available 11/23/17-1/1/18

December Special
330.00 USD

Package includes 5 one hour lessons car for road test and simulated road test prep

Road Test Special
255.00 USD

Package Includes
5 Hour Class
2 One Hour Lessons
30 Minute Test Prep Day of Test
Car For Road Test

Bundle Package

Click drop down menu for lesson options
Package includes lessons, 5 hour class and car for road test,road test scheduling,
package plans can be upgraded to higher package if you need additional lessons

Bundle Package
Driving Lesson Basic Package

click drop down menu for lesson options,
Driving Lessons and Road Test Appointment,
package does not include car for road test.
If you book your own road test, receive $15.00 off the package.
Before purchasing call us for availability.

.

Basic Package
Platinum Package

CLICK DROP DOWN MENU FOR OPTIONS
LESSON PACKAGE INCLUDES LESSONS AND CAR FOR ROAD TEST COMPLEMENTARY ROAD TEST SCHEDULING

Platinum Package

This Privacy Policy describes your privacy rights we do not share any information with any third parties.

"BE SAFE ON THE ROAD AHEAD"

Contact Us

Island Driving School-Southshore Location

91 Guyon Ave 

Staten Island,  N.Y. 10306

718-980-1400

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday 10am-6pm

Saturday -12pm-5pm

Sunday-11am-4pm

 

Located by the Oakwood Heights Train Station.

By Bus: the S57 Stops at the Oakwood Heights Train Station.

 

740 Delafield Avenue-Northshore location

Staten Island, N.Y. 10310

718-980-1402

Office Hours

Monday -10am-6pm

Tuesday-10am-6pm

Wednesday-10am-6pm

Thursday-10am-6pm

Friday-closed

Saturday-9am-3pm

Sunday- Closed

 

 

Entrance is on Clove Road

 

 

New Brighton/Port Richmond Location

 

S54 stops right in front of our office.

S48 stops corner of forest and clove.

 

 

 

Fax: 718-619-4145

 

 

You can also fill out our contact information form.

           5 HOUR PRE-LICENSING  CLASS

 

                class only     

                    $40.00

 

      

                       

740 DELAFIELD AVENUE CLASSES:

CLOVE ROAD ONE BLOCK FROM FOREST AVENUE

BUS: S54 STOPS RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE OFFICE OR S48 STOPS ON FOREST AND CLOVE.

 

EVERY TUESDAY  5PM

EVERY SATURDAY AT 10AM

SUNDAY TWICE A MONTH CHECK FOR  CALENDAR DAYS.

 

To Register click book now or call our office.

 

718-980-1402

 

$40.00 Cash Payment at class, please bring your photo ID -if you have temporary permit you must bring another form of ID with your picture on it.

 

 

 

91 GUYON AVENUE CLASSES:

BUS: S57

TRAIN: WE ARE RIGHT BY THE OAKWOOD HEIGHTS STOP.

 

EVERY SUNDAY AT 10AM

EVERY WEDNESDAY 5PM

 

To register click book now or call our office at

718-980-1400

 

$40.00 Cash Payment at class, please bring your photo ID -if you have temporary permit you must bring another form of ID with your picture on it.

 

IF YOU DO NOT PRE-REGISTER IF SEATING IS AVAILABLE WILL BE FIRST COME FROM SERVE.

 

 

 

 

 

PLEASE ARRIVE A 30 MINUTES  BEFORE CLASS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION.

 

 

TRANSPORTATION: 91 GUYON AVENUE PORT RICHMOND/FOREST AVENUE STUDENTS S 57 STOPS RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE OFFICE, BY TRAIN: OAKWOOD HEIGHTS.

 

740 DELAFIELD AVENUE: S54 AND S48 STOPS RIGHT IN FRONT OF OUR OFFICE.

 

 

PLEASE CALL OUR OFFICE TO RESERVE A SEAT OR  FOR YOUR CONVIENIENCE USE OUR "BOOK NOW OPTION"  WE WILL CALL YOU TO CONFIRM, PLEASE BRING YOUR PERMIT, IF YOU HAVE A TEMPORARY PLEASE BRING ANOTHER PICTURE ID.

 

LET US SCHEDULE YOUR ROAD TEST FOR YOU.

 

WE ALSO OFFER FAST ROAD TEST OPTION,CALL OR CHAT US FOR MORE INFORMATION.

 

 

6 Hour Defensive classes are held at 91 Guyon Avenue and 740 Delafield Avenue

 

Prepay $55.00 pay at the door $60.00

bring a friend save $5.00

 

To Register call 718-980-1400 or 718-980-1402

 

Online registration click Book Now 

 

You must hold a Drivers License to take this class

Save 10% on your auto Insurance and up to 4 points on your driving record.

 

This class is also a requirement for TLC Eendorsement.

 

YOU MUST ARRIVE NO LATER THAT 30 MINUTES BEFORE CLASS TIME OR YOU WILL HAVE TO RESCHEDULED.

 

 WE OFFER THE CLASS ONLINE, YOU HAVE 30 DAYS TO COMPLETE, YOU CAN GO AT YOUR OWN PACE, WE OFFER A $10.00 DISCOUNT TYPE IN "ISLAND" IN THE PROMO CODE.

WWW.EMPIRESAFETYCOUNCIL.COM/ISLAND 

CHAT WITH US ON FACEBOOK, CLICK ON LIVE CHAT AND WE ARE THERE TO ASSIST YOU.